Zhores Ivanovich Alferov

About Zhores Ivanovich Alferov

Who is it?: Physicist
Birth Day: March 15, 1930
Birth Place: Vitebsk, Byelorussian SSR, Soviet Union, Russian
Birth Sign: Aries
Alma mater: Saint Petersburg State Electrotechnical University "LETI" (old name V. I. Ulyanov Electrotechnical Institute "LETI")
Known for: Heterotransistors
Spouse(s): Tamara Darskaya (m. 1967)
Awards: Global Energy Prize (2005) Kyoto Prize in Advanced Technology (2001) Nobel Prize in Physics (2000) Demidov Prize (1999) Ioffe Prize (Russian Academy of Sciences, 1996) USSR State Prize (1984) Lenin Prize (1972) Stuart Ballantine Medal (1971) Order of Lenin (1986)
Fields: Applied physics
Institutions: Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute

Zhores Ivanovich Alferov Net Worth

Zhores Ivanovich Alferov was born on March 15, 1930 in Vitebsk, Byelorussian SSR, Soviet Union, Russian, is Physicist. Zhores Ivanovich Alferov is a Nobel Prize winning Russian physicist, renowned for his contribution to the creation of modern heterostructure physics. Born in the second quarter of the twentieth century to Byelorussian parents, he developed interest in semiconductors while he was a third year student at Ul'yanov Electro technical Institute in Leningrad. On receiving his BS degree from there, he directly joined Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute as junior researcher. There he was included in a team of young scientists and began working on germanium photodiodes and silicon. Soon they were asked to build a special semiconductor device for the first Soviet atomic submarine. Working as a team, they not only completed the project in record time, but Alferov was especially identified for his contribution and was honored with the first of many state honors that he would later receive. Interestingly, he earned his candidate degree three years after this work and his PhD almost after twelve years. Meanwhile he had made quite a number of inventions and became first a senior researcher and then the head of the laboratory and finally the director of the institute. Until now, he has authored 4 books, 400 articles, and had made 50 inventions.
Zhores Ivanovich Alferov is a member of Scientists

💰 Net worth: Under Review

Some Zhores Ivanovich Alferov images



Alferov was born in Vitebsk, Byelorussian SSR, Soviet Union, to a Belarusian father, Ivan Karpovich Alferov, a factory manager, and a Jewish mother, Anna Vladimirovna Rosenblum. Zhores was named after French socialist Jean Jaurès while his older brother was named Marx after Karl Marx. In 1947 he completed high school 42 in Minsk and started Belarusian Polytechnic Academy. In 1952, he graduated from V. I. Ulyanov (Lenin) Electrotechnical Institute in Leningrad. Since 1953 he has worked in the Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute of the USSR Academy of Sciences. From the Institute, he earned several scientific degrees: a Candidate of Sciences in Technology in 1961 and a Doctor of Sciences in Physics and Mathematics in 1970. He has been Director of the Institute from 1987 to 2003. He was elected a corresponding member of the USSR Academy of Sciences in 1972, and a full member in 1979. From 1989, he has been Vice-President of the USSR Academy of Sciences and President of its Saint Petersburg Scientific Center. Since 1995 he is a member of the State Duma on the list of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation. In 2000 he received the Nobel Prize in Physics together with Herbert Kroemer, "for developing semiconductor heterostructures used in high-speed- and optoelectronics".


Since 1962, he has been working in the area of semiconductor heterostructures. His contributions to physics and Technology of semiconductor heterostructures, especially investigations of injection properties, development of lasers, solar cells, LED's, and epitaxy processes have led to the creation of modern heterostructure physics and electronics.


Alferov was elected to the Russian Parliament, the State Duma in 1995 as a deputy for the political party Our Home is Russia, generally considered to be supportive of the policies of President Boris Yeltsin. In 1999 he was elected again, this time on the list of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation. He was re-elected in 2003 and again in 2007, when he was placed second on the party's federal electoral list behind Gennady Zyuganov and ahead of Nikolai Kharitonov, even though he is not a member of the party. He was one of the signers of the Open letter to the President Vladimir V. Putin from the Members of the Russian Academy of Sciences against clericalisation of Russia.