Frederick Chapman Robbins

About Frederick Chapman Robbins

Who is it?: Virologist and Paediatrician
Birth Day: August 25, 1916
Birth Place: Auburn, Alabama, United States, United States
Died On: August 4, 2003(2003-08-04) (aged 86)\nCleveland, Ohio
Birth Sign: Virgo
Alma mater: University of Missouri, Harvard University
Awards: E. Mead Johnson Award (1953) Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1954)
Fields: Pediatrics Virology
Institutions: Case Western Reserve University

Frederick Chapman Robbins Net Worth

Frederick Chapman Robbins was born on August 25, 1916 in Auburn, Alabama, United States, United States, is Virologist and Paediatrician. Frederick Chapman Robbins was an American paediatrician and virologist who, along with John Franklin Enders and Thomas Huckle Weller, won the 1954 Nobel Prize in Medicine. The trio was awarded for their discovery of the ability of poliomyelitis viruses to grow in cultures of various types of tissue. This was a revolutionary discovery of that time as it helped to grow the virus in test tube and in turn develop a vaccine that eventually has eliminated the crippling disease from most of the countries across the globe. The breakthrough work in isolation and growth of the polio virus had expansive dividends. The tissue culture technique developed helped isolate increasing number of viruses of infectious disease and also had important implications for cancer. Apart from his scientific career, Robbins played a crucial role as an academic leader as well. He served as President of the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine and as Professor Emeritus of Case Western Reserve Medical School.
Frederick Chapman Robbins is a member of Virologists

💰 Net worth: Under Review

Some Frederick Chapman Robbins images



In 1952, he was appointed professor of pediatrics at Case Western Reserve University. Robbins was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1962. From 1966 to 1980, Robbins was dean of the School of Medicine at Case Western. In 1980, he assumed the presidency of the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine. Five years later, in 1985, Robbins returned to Case Western Reserve as dean emeritus and distinguished university professor emeritus. He continued to be a fixture at the medical school until his death in 2003. The medical school's "Frederick C. Robbins Society" is named in his honor.


He received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1954 along with John Franklin Enders and Thomas Huckle Weller, making Robbins the only Nobel laureate born in Alabama. The award was for breakthrough work in isolating and growing the polio virus in tissue culture, paving the way for vaccines developed by Jonas Salk and Albert Sabin. He attended school at the University of Missouri and Harvard University.


Robbins received the Benjamin Franklin Medal for Distinguished Achievement in the Sciences of the American Philosophical Society in 1999.