Sune Bergström

About Sune Bergström

Who is it?: Biochemist
Birth Day: January 10, 1916
Birth Place: Stockholm, Sweden, Swedish
Died On: 15 August 2004(2004-08-15) (aged 88)
Birth Sign: Aquarius
Residence: california;
Known for: Prostaglandin
Awards: Gairdner Foundation International Award (1972) Nobel Prize Medicine Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize (1975) Welch Award in Chemistry (1980)
Fields: Biochemistry

Sune Bergström Net Worth

Sune Bergström was born on January 10, 1916 in Stockholm, Sweden, Swedish, is Biochemist. Sune Bergström was a Swedish biochemist who was one of the co-recipients of the 1982 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; he won the award for his discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related substances. Bergström spent most of his working life researching on prostaglandin at Karolinska Institute. He was introduced to the topic by Ulf von Euler, who at that time was working on it. Impressed by Bergström’s work on lipoxygenase, Euler gave him some prostaglandin extracts to purify. However, he could not take up the work immediately because soon after the incident, he first went to Switzerland with a research fellowship and then joined University of Lund, where the infrastructure for research work needed to be rebuilt. Nonetheless, he soon gathered around him a team of young scientists and with them began his work on prostaglandin. Later, on getting a call from Karolinska Institute, he moved to Stockholm with his whole team and continued his research on prostaglandin. Subsequently, they not only identified six different prostaglandins, but also described their chemical structure. Later, he began to work on its clinical applications. The importance of his work was such that in spite of being the Chairman of the Board of Directors at the Nobel Foundation, he received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine along with Bengt I. Samuelsson and John R. Vane.
Sune Bergström is a member of Scientists

💰 Net worth: Under Review

Some Sune Bergström images



Sune Bergström was the Father of the evolutionary Geneticist Svante Pääbo and of the businessman Rurik Reenstierna (both born 1955). He was an honorary member of the International Academy of Science. His wife died in 2007.


He was elected a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in 1965, and its President in 1983. In 1965, he was also elected a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. He was elected a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1966. In 1985 he was appointed member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences.


In 1975, he was awarded the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize from Columbia University together with Bengt I. Samuelsson. He shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Bengt I. Samuelsson and John R. Vane in 1982, for discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related substances.