Rudolph A. Marcus

About Rudolph A. Marcus

Who is it?: Chemist
Birth Day: July 21, 1923
Birth Place: Montreal, Canada, Canadian
Birth Sign: Leo
Citizenship: United States, Canada
Alma mater: McGill University (BSc, PhD)
Known for: Electron transfer
Spouse(s): Laura Hearne (m. 1949; death 2003)
Children: 3
Awards: Irving Langmuir Award (1978) ForMemRS (1987) Peter Debye Award (1988) National Medal of Science (1989) Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1992)
Fields: Chemistry
Institutions: New York University Tandon School of Engineering University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign California Institute of Technology
Thesis: Studies on the conversion of PHX to AcAn (1946)
Doctoral advisor: Carl A. Winkler

Rudolph A. Marcus Net Worth

Rudolph A. Marcus was born on July 21, 1923 in Montreal, Canada, Canadian, is Chemist. Rudolph A. Marcus is a Canadian-American chemist who received the 1992 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work on the theory of electron-transfer reactions in chemical systems. The Marcus theory, named after him, provides a framework for explaining diverse and fundamental phenomena such as photosynthesis, cell metabolism, and simple corrosion. He is also known for his work in areas such as transition-state theory and the theory of unimolecular reactions. Born in Montreal, Quebec, he developed an early interest in science, thanks to the influence of his two highly educated paternal uncles. Even though his own parents were not much educated, they wholeheartedly encouraged their son’s academic interests. After completing his high school he joined the McGill University to study chemistry. He also took several courses in mathematics. He eventually moved to the United States for a postdoctoral research fellowship and ultimately became an American citizen. It was in the 1950s that he began studying electron-transfer reactions and investigated the role of surrounding solvent molecules in determining the rate of redox reactions. He propounded the Marcus theory which is used to describe a number of important processes in chemistry and biology, including photosynthesis, corrosion, and certain types of chemiluminescence. He also developed Rice-Ramsperger-Kassel-Marcus theory by combining RRK theory with transition state theory.
Rudolph A. Marcus is a member of Scientists

💰 Net worth: Under Review

Some Rudolph A. Marcus images



He earned a B.Sc. in 1943 and a Ph.D. in 1946, both from McGill University. In 1958, Marcus became a naturalized citizen of the United States.


After graduating, in 1946, he worked at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn. In 1952, at the University of North Carolina, he developed Rice-Ramsperger-Kassel-Marcus theory by combining RRK theory with transition state theory. In 1964, he taught at the University of Illinois.


A type of chemical reaction linked to his many studies of electron transfer would be the transfer of an electron between metal ions in different states of oxidation. An Example of this type of chemical reaction would be one between a bivalent and a trivalent iron ion in an aqueous solution. In Marcus's time chemists were astonished at the slow rate in which this specific reaction took place. This attracted many chemists in the 1950s and is also what began Marcus's interests in electron transfer. Marcus made many studies based on the principles that were found within this chemical reaction, and through his studies was able to create his famous Marcus theory. This theory gave way to new experimental programs that contributed to all branches within chemistry.


He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1970, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1973, the American Philosophical Society in 1990, received honorary membership in the Royal Society of Chemistry in 1991, and in the Royal Society of Canada in 1993. He was elected a Foreign Member of the Royal Society (ForMemRS) in 1987.


He also received a Professorial Fellowship at University College, Oxford from 1975 to 1976.


Honorary degrees were conferred to Marcus by the University of Chicago in 1983, by the University of Goteborg in 1986, by the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn in 1987, by McGill in 1988, by Queen's University in 1993, by the University of New Brunswick also in 1993 and by the University of Hyderabad, in India, which conferred the degree of Doctor of Science in 2012.


Before receiving the Nobel Prize in 1992, Marcus received the National Medal of Science in 1989, the Irving Langmuir Award of the American Chemical Society in 1978, the Willard Gibbs Award in 1988, the Theodore william Richards Award in 1990, the Pauling Medals in 1991, and the Remsen and Edgar Fahs Smith Awards in 1991, the Peter Debye Award of the American Chemical Society in 1988, the Robinson Award in 1982, the Centenary Medals of the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 1988, Columbia University's Chandler Medal in 1983, Ohio State's william Lloyd Evans Award in 1990, the Wolf Prize in Chemistry in 1985 and the Hirschfelder Prize in Chemistry in 1993. Marcus has been a Member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1970, and a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences since 1973. He won the Wolf Prize in Chemistry in 1984.


Electron transfer is one of the simplest forms of a chemical reaction. It consists of one outer-sphere electron transfer between substances of the same atomic structure likewise to Marcus’s studies between bivalent and trivalent iron ions. Electron transfer may be one of the most basic forms of chemical reaction but without it life cannot exist. Electron transfer is used in all respiratory functions as well as photosynthesis. In the process of oxidizing food molecules, 2 hydrogen ions, 2 electrons, and an oxygen molecule react to make an exothermic reaction as well as H2O (water). Due to fact that electron transfer is such a broad, Common, as well as essential reaction within nature, Marcus's theory has become vital within the field of chemistry.